Leadership and Program Representatives

COGS Leadership Team

The COGS Leadership Team (LT) is a group of elected graduate students who are responsible for the administration and organizational tasks required to run COGS. The LT consists of an Executive Committee (EC) or the board of directors, A Judiciary Committee (JC), and elected Program Representatives (Reps) who are voting members in the General Assembly (GA)

The Executive Committee (EC) is a subset of the Leadership Team and is responsible for holding monthly meetings, vote during the General Assembly, and conduct majority of the administration for the operation of COGS. The EC consists of a Speaker who presides over the meetings, and a board of Directors who are all voting members with fiduciary obligations. The President and Vice President of COGS, members of the JC, President of the Council of International Graduate Students (CIGS), and associate directors sit in as ex officio members.

The JC is a supervisory body comprising a Chief Justice and two Justices. The members do not have a vote in the EC, but they do in the GA. The JC also is responsible for free and fair conduct of COGS elections. The JC meets and decides on petitions or complaints as and when necessary. All our justices are ex officio members of the EC as well.

General Assembly

The General Assembly (GA) is a monthly meeting in which the EC, JC, Reps, and all COGS members discuss and vote on issues that affect graduate students at UMN. All COGS-fee paying graduate students are members of the General Assembly. All GA meetings for the calendar year 2018 will be conducted in 35 Nicholson Hall, East Bank Campus, between 6:10 PM and 8:00 PM

Program Representatives are graduate students who represent the interests of the graduate program of which they are a member. Every research-based degree granting program at UMN-TC is entitled to have a representative who attends and votes at the General Assembly. The way in which this representative is chosen is at each program's discretion.

If your program does not currently have a representative or if you are unsure your program is entitled to a representative, please contact Mia Larson: lars1830@umn.edu

Our GA chartered three "mission based" committees on 25th of September 2018, whose terms end on the 1st of July 2019. These committees are driven by an end-goal, and lead by a chairperson. All GA members are encouraged to go through the details of these committees and participate in fulfilling the mission of the committee(s) that resonate with them the most.